Book Review: The Lost Melody

Ready for some first class Victorian-Era gothic romance?

Been a while since you visited a seemingly haunted asylumn of Nineteenth Century England?

If you’re a fan of the works of the Brontë sisters, and ready for a suprisingly inspirational gothic fare, you’ll love Joanna Davidson Politano’s The Lost Melody. 

Keep reading for my full review and the chance for a giveaway below!

 

THE LOST MELODY

by Joanna Davidson Politano

 

Genre: Historical Romance

Publisher: Revell

Publication Date: October 4, 2022

Number of Pages: 384

Scroll down for the giveaway!


Synopsis

When concert pianist Vivienne Mourdant’s father dies, he leaves to her the care of a patient at Hurstwell Asylum. Vivienne had no idea the woman existed, and yet her portrait is shockingly familiar. When the asylum claims she was never a patient there, Vivienne is compelled to discover what happened to the figure she remembers from childhood dreams.

The longer she lingers in the deep shadows and forgotten towers at Hurstwell, the fuzzier the line between sanity and madness becomes. She hears music no one else does, receives strange missives with rose petals between the pages, and untangles far more than is safe for her to know. But can she uncover the truth about the mysterious woman she seeks? And is there anyone at Hurstwell she can trust with her suspicions?

Joanna Davidson Politano casts a delightful spell with this lyrical look into the nature of women’s independence and artistic expression during the Victorian era—and now.


CLICK TO PURCHASE

Baker Book House | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Christianbook.com |

Baker Publishing Group |

goodreads link


PRAISE FOR THE BOOK

“Haunting. Riveting. Filled with hope. The Lost Melody is all these things and more. Author Joanna Davidson Politano delves into the dark world of Victorian mental health, and it’s the reader who comes out the winner after being enchanted by this tale of identity lost. After you read the last page, the characters will live on in your mind. Truly a fantastic read!” —Michelle Griep, author of Lost in Darkness

“Joanna Davidson Politano’s stories go on my bookshelf as a favorite! The stories she pens entice my Gothic-loving senses, thrill my literary soul, and inspire the dark romantic inside my spirit. I cannot emphasize enough how strongly I adore each story from this vivid and insightful author, and how badly I wish for all readers to experience her tales!” —Jaime Jo Wright, author of The Souls of Lost Lake, and Christy Award-winning The House on Foster Hill


Review

5 of 5 Stars

“I was a Chopin nocturne–surprising, complex, and impossible to master.”

Classical music combines with inspirational gothic romance in Joanna Davidson Politano’s The Lost Melody. My father trained as a classical concert pianist. Most of my childhood, I was lulled to sleep by the echoes of music in the night, as inspiration drove him to play at all hours. And as a former student of music myself, I connected deeply with the heroine’s unique way of viewing the world through melody.

Vivienne was born with a gift. From childhood, she is forced to hone her talent and suffer her father’s abuse, until she becomes a premier concert pianist. Her life is not hers until her father’s untimely death, and she is finally mistress of her own life again. Not only can she continue to perform for the elite of society and use her wealth to aid others, but she can finally marry her childhood best friend.

There’s only the mysterious matter of her father’s ward, locked away for years in an insane asylum for paupers. Only the hospital denies ever having such a patient. Was her father duped into sending money all those years, or is something more sinister underfoot? Unable to perform during her mourning period, Vivienne decides to uncover the truth by changing her name and investigating the matter herself.

The Lost Melody has just about everything you could want in a historical gothic romance. A strong-willed heroine, a creepy asylum, and lovely men in cravats. While romance plays a hand, it is not the loudest note in the story, but remains a bright spot in an otherwise grim setting. I loved the way Vivienne’s perspective weaves the story in such a way that we begin to question whether she is going mad or not.

If you haven’t already clued into the gothic elements, this is a darker novel and Politano is unafraid to address difficult subject matter. While mental health issues in Victorian England are handled as poorly as you might expect by most characters, the author infuses light throughout Vivienne’s story through scripture and music. Perfect for fans of Jane Eyre and Beethoven alike, The Lost Melody guarantees to haunt the reader long after the final stanza.

**I was provided with a copy of The Lost Melody by the publisher and this is my voluntary and honest review.**



MEET JOANNA DAVIDSON POLITANO

Joanna Davidson Politano is the award-winning author of Lady Jayne Disappears, A Rumored Fortune, Finding Lady Enderly, The Love Note, and A Midnight Dance. She loves tales that capture the colorful, exquisite details in ordinary lives and is eager to hear anyone’s story. She lives with her husband and their children in a house in the woods near Lake Michigan.

Website | Bookbub | Facebook |

Twitter | Amazon | Goodreads |


GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!

ONE WINNER

 

Receives a Sterling Silver Treble Clef pendant necklace

+ Copy of The Lost Melody

(US only; ends midnight, CDT, October 13, 2022.)

A RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY


CLICK TO VISIT THE LONESTAR LITERARY LIFE TOUR PAGE

FOR DIRECT LINKS TO EACH POST ON THIS TOUR, UPDATED DAILY,

OR VISIT THE PARTICIPATING BLOGS DIRECTLY:

10/4/22

Chapter Break Book Blog

Playlist

10/4/22

Hall Ways Blog

BONUS Promo

10/5/22

Shelf Life Blog

Author Interview

10/5/22

LSBBT Blog

BONUS Promo

10/6/22

Carpe Diem Chronicles

Review

10/7/22

The Plain-Spoken Pen

Review

10/8/22

Rainy Days with Amanda

Excerpt

10/9/22

Stories Under Starlight

Excerpt

10/10/22

Jennifer Silverwood

Review

10/11/22

The Page Unbound

Deleted Scene

10/12/22

StoreyBook Reviews

Review

10/13/22

Boys’ Mom Reads!

Review


blog tour services provided by

LoneStarLitLife

LoneStarBookBlogTours sm

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Lost Melody

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: