Book Review: Ain’t Nobody Nobody by Heather Harper Ellett

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for: my favorite read of 2019! Which, so happens to be a recent read provided by Lone Star Book Blog Tours. Ain’t Nobody Nobody is one of those rare gems you can devour in one sitting. With my roots in Deep East Texas, this book felt like something that could have happened to my cousins at our own back fence. But more on my thoughts later. 😉 First, a little info about the book!

AIN’T NOBODY NOBODY

by Heather Harper Ellett

  Genre: Murder Mystery / Southern Noir / Dark Humor

Publisher: Polis Books

Date of Publication: September 24, 2019

Number of Pages: 336

Scroll down for Giveaway!


Synopsis

 

Named a Best Debut of Fall/Winter 2019 by Library JournalAin’t Nobody Nobody is the story of a disgraced East Texas sheriff, his dead best friend’s surly teenage daughter, and a naive ranch hand who find unlikely redemption in a murdered hog hunter on a fence. 

Part Breaking Bad and part Faulkner, this tragi-comic mystery is perfect for readers who enjoy dark humor (think Fargo) and like their crime fiction with a literary flare. 

 

A Best Mystery of 2019 by the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

 

Click to Purchase

goodreads link


Review

5 of 5 Stars

Poignant and hilarious in tandem, Ain’t Nobody Nobody is the book you didn’t know you should be reading. From the moment I saw the hog beneath the title on the cover, I knew I had to read this book. Because I, too, grew up checking on hog tracks and waking the next day to the devastation they could wreak on your yard. Ellett is a local to East Texas, and it shows from the colloquialisms, the mannerisms and the true grit of its characters. I was watching out for certain things when I dove into Ellett’s dark comedy, and more than pleased when she delivered in spades.

Ain’t Nobody Nobody takes place in “the thicket,” or what most would consider the middle of nowhere. Former county Sherriff, Randy Mayhill is living with one foot in the past and the other in denial. You could say this story is the world according to Randy Mayhill. The disgraced Sherriff has little to his name: a one-room shack on his dead best friend’s property, three dogs and a desperate need to somehow make a difference. When his former best friend’s daughter Birdie finds herself in the worst possible pickle—how to dispose of a dead body—Mayhill rises to the occasion. Caught in the thick of things is poor Bradley, Birdie’s “just-a-friend.” All three people (because soon enough you stop thinking of them as characters) want simple things. Randy wants affirmation, Birdy wants her dad back, and Bradley just wants a better life. Finding a dead body is just the beginning of their story, and as you hope, lead them to a satisfying ending.

Everything about Heather Harper Ellett’s crafting is superb, in particular, her gift for blending humor and subjects you never would have thought could go so well together. You will laugh and you may shed a tear, but you’ll certainly love every witty turn of phrase. Above all, I dare you not to be pulled in by the heart of this fantastic book. The truth is in the title, after all: Ain’t Nobody Nobody. The perfect read for fans of Fargo and Justified, Heather Harper Ellett’s debut highlights truths and mystery within the Piney Woods.

**I was provided with a copy of Ain’t Nobody Nobody by the author and this is my voluntary and honest review.**



MEET HEATHER HARPER ELLETT

Born and raised in East Texas, Heather Harper Ellett is a graduate of SMU and a therapist in private practice. She lives in Dallas with her husband and son.

  WEBSITE    TWITTER   GOODREADS 


GRAND GIVEAWAY

THREE SIGNED HARDCOVER COPIES

  January 2-12, 2020

A RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY



CHECK OUT THE OTHER GREAT 4BLOGS ON THE TOUR:

1/2/20

Review

Hall Ways Blog

1/2/20

Review

Max Knight

1/3/20

Review

KayBee’s Book Shelf

1/3/20

Review

StoreyBook Reviews

1/4/20

Review

The Librarian Talks

1/5/20

Review

Momma on the Rocks

1/6/20

Review

Chapter Break Book Blog

1/6/20

Review

It’s Not All Gravy

1/7/20

Review

Reading by Moonlight

1/8/20

Review

That’s What She’s Reading

1/9/20

Review

Librariel Book Adventures

1/9/20

Review

Missus Gonzo

1/10/20

Review

Forgotten Winds

1/11/20

Review

Jennifer Silverwood

1/11/20

Review

Book Fidelity


blog tour services provided byLoneStarLitLife

LoneStarBookBlogTours sm

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ain’t Nobody Nobody by Heather Harper Ellett

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: